index archives guestbook notes email host

01/10/01 - 02:47 AM

Well it had to happen eventually.

We were in a minor car accident and afterward my back was killing me. Not to mention the damage to the car was more significant than we could tell in the pouring snow. When we got home Chess called the police station and asked them for advice. We hadn't called the police in when the accident happened because it didn't seem necessary.

The basic advice they gave us was to go to station and fill out a report. So with my back killing me and the snow accumulating on the ground, we made our way over the police station, very carefully.

Once there the officers gave us a small lecture about the benefits of having a policeman on the scene of the accident. Finally someone sat down with us and started taking notes. At one point the officer looked over at Chess and said:

"Well all you have to do is call your insurance company, explain that you had an accident and that your daughter here was hurt�"

I had to bite my lip to keep from laughing. Chess gave the man a weary look and explained that I was his girlfriend, not his daughter. The officer, completely unflustered, said that he had been told that I was the daughter. That's the ticket, officer, blame it on someone else.

We always knew that someday, someone would refer to me as Chess' daughter. I just thought it would be a lot sooner than this. Of course considering how we act when we go out, not many people are going to mistake me for his daughter, unless of course we were in Kentucky.

I thought it was hilarious. Of course Chess does not look like he is anywhere near old enough to have a daughter my age. But I suppose when I am looking a little frail and vulnerable, I might appear younger than I am. Still, Chess and I look nothing alike; then again I could say the same thing about my real parents.

Chess seems very oblivious to the stares that we get when we go out. I do notice them, though I don't care. In fact I think I enjoy the attention a little. Enjoy the look on everyone's faces because I know what they're thinking. They're thinking that Chess is a pervert and I am a gold-digging slut. I think I even do some things to antagonize these people, especially the particularly irritating ones. I suppose I have a reputation to uphold, so I do my best to wrap myself around Chess in their presence. It's good fun.

And then there are the unwed middle-aged women who glaze at us with unconcealed lust on their faces. Chess is a very cute and very sweet, which is obvious to anyone who watches us interact. I see these poor women, their envy emanating from their eyes. All they can think is that there aren't enough attractive, nice, single men their age to go around without the younger generation trying to lure some away.

Perhaps if the women of his generation had not been mainly psychotic beasts, I wouldn't have been able to lure Chess away.

If any of these people knew us, they would know that we truly love each other. It's evident in our eyes, our actions, our conversations. And maybe, just maybe, some people stare because what we have is something they could never grasp with anyone, in their age bracket or otherwise.



Past Five:
[110703] [08/06/03] [07/25/03] [07/21/03] [07/12/03]

back